How many of you know that cheese can be vegan🤔?? Well to be frank I didn’t know when I turned vegan and even after that for so much of time. I only knew cheese made with dairy milk. Well, this was an actual blessing to find out there is much plant-based cheese.
We all love cheese and it is actually the hardest thing to give up. Before going vegan it was the only thing which was stopping me to quit dairy. 🙈
There are many brands in India that sell vegan cheese but still, it is not easy to buy that every time, so I tried my hands on making plant-based cheese at home.
Vegan cheese or plant-based cheese is made from ingredients that are generated from plants but not from animal milk. There are many varieties of plant-based cheese like made with cashew, oil, almond, etc. Agar-agar powder or flakes ate used to make it stiff.
Agar-agar or agar flakes is a jelly like substance generated from algae or seaweed. It is plant-based and used instead of gelatine which is animal-derived. It solidify cheese.
If you are using agar flakes then soak it in cold water for 5-10 minutes when making cheese. Then empty in a pot and keep on the stove on slow flame add more water, for 1 spoon of flakes add 1+1/2 spoon water to soak and while heating adds 1 spoon water again. Until it dissolves keep on the stove and keep mixing. Use quickly otherwise it will settle like jelly.